Here are some of the latest health and medical news developments, compiled by the editors of HealthDay:
Hawaii Becomes First State to Raise Smoking Age to 21
Hawaii has become the first state to raise the legal smoking age to 21 for both traditional and electronic cigarettes.
State health officials hope the new law, effective Jan. 1, will make it harder for teenagers to try smoking or to develop the deadly habit, the Associated Press reported.
"In Hawaii, about one in four students in high school try their first cigarette each year, and one in three who get hooked will die prematurely," said Lola Irvin, administrator with the chronic disease prevention and health promotion division of the Hawaii Department of Health.
E-cigarettes were added to the legislation after officials saw the percentage of public high school students smoking the devices quadruple over four years, to 22 percent in 2015. Among middle schoolers, there was a sixfold increase in use during that same time period, to 12 percent in 2015, the AP reported.
More than 100 U.S. cities and counties have already raised the smoking age to 21, including New York City, according to the wire service.
Several military bases in Hawaii said they would comply with the new state law, the AP reported.
Copyright © 2016
All rights reserved.
HealthDayNews articles are derived from various sources and do not reflect federal policy. healthfinder.gov does not endorse opinions, products, or services that may appear in news stories. For more information on health topics in the news, visit Health News on healthfinder.gov.
Note: Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader®.